About the SHC Legacy Fund

Honoring Mentors by Supporting Community Initiatives

The Student Health Coalition Legacy Fund was established in 2020 by former Coalitioners to provide financial support and give back to the communities we worked with as students many decades ago, all in the spirit of the original mission of the Student Health Coalition. Those with experience in fundraising and nonprofit management coordinate the Legacy Fund, which is structured as a “Donor Advised Fund” housed at the East Tennessee Foundation, a 501(c)(3) certified community foundation in Knoxville.

Mission Statement

To empower residents in underserved communities to craft their own solutions for their own challenges; support organizations and their leaders who comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable; and nurture service that is committed to improving the lives of the least of us.

Grant Recipient Selection Process

Grant recipients are decided upon by the SHC coordinating team after researching appropriate potential nonprofit organizations in Tennessee, Kentucky, and Virginia. Please visit our Grant Recipients page for more in-depth information about each annual grant cycle and their corresponding grant recipients.

How to Make a Donation

Online Donation:

Using your credit card, you can make a donation at ETF/Student Health Coalition Legacy Fund . You will receive an email receipt of your tax-deductible gift. Please note that ETF receives 97% of your gift; three percent is deducted for the credit card fee. Online, you can provide honoree contact information if you wish to make your gift in honor or memory of an individual. ETF will send an acknowledgment to the contact you provide.

Mail-In Donation:

If you prefer to mail a check to ETF, which also preserves 100% of your donation, please make the check payable to East Tennessee Foundation with a Memo: For Student Health Coalition Legacy Fund. Please include honoree contact information if you wish to make your gift in honor or memory of an individual. ETF will send an acknowledgment to the contact you provide. ETF will mail you a receipt for your tax-deductible gift. Please mail your gift to East Tennessee Foundation, 520 W. Summit Hill Drive, Suite 1101, Knoxville, TN 37902. Attention: Student Health Coalition Legacy Fund.

Donor Advised Fund Transfer:

Follow the instructions from your DAF fund. And, add the memo directing the money to the Student Health Coalition Legacy Fund. ETF will send a confirmation once they have received the funds from your DAF.

Donation of Assets (publicly traded securities, retirement assets, real property, etc.):

Please contact Mr. Mike McClamroch, ETF President (mmcclamroch@etf.org ).

Note: A Donor Advised Fund Does Not Qualify to Receive IRA Direct Distributions.

By current law, the Legacy Fund, a Donor Advised Fund (DAF), cannot receive gifts directly from an IRA/Retirement Account because a DAF is not a 501(c)(3) organization and therefore is not considered a “qualified charity.” The East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) is the sponsor of our DAF and is a 501(c)(3) organization, but it cannot deposit IRA funds in specific DAF accounts. In 2021, several gifts that were made directly from IRA’s held in financial institutions were returned to the donors or deposited in other qualified accounts within the ETF. It’s possible that these rules will change in current federal legislation. Donors may still use proceeds from their IRA to make charitable donations, just not directly. Donations to a DAF are tax deductible, and donors receive written acknowledgment from ETF to substantiate a charitable contribution.

Donors thru. Dec 2021

Robert Clyde Allen, Nancy Bagwell, Jack Beckford, Bradley Family, Barbara Clinton & Jim Selin, Heleny Cook, Bill Corr, Rick Davidson, Anne (Dierdorff) & Richard Thomas, Margaret Ecker, John Gaventa & Juliet Merrifield, Hattie Gresham, Rosalie Hammond & Magnus Persmark, Bob Hartmann & Mel Welsh, Lark Hayes, Becca (Joffrion) & Joe Ingle, Paul Joffrion, Tom John & Brenda Butka, Pat Kalmans, John Kennedy & Eleanor Kennedy, Cathryn Stanley Krebs, Diane Lauver, Joe Little, Dal Macon & Marian Colette, Jean Massey, Moriah McArthur, Neil McBride, Polly (McClanahan) & John McArthur, Ginnie Thompson Munford, Ellen Ormond, Nancy Raybin & Bill Portlock, Dale Strasser, John J. Troidl, Irwin Venick & Jeanne Ballinger, Daryl Walker, Ellen Weiss

Tributes in Memory & Honor of Our Mentors thru. Dec 2021

In memory:

“Aunt Lillie” Ayers, Kate Bradley, Carolyn Burr, Bill Dow, Howard & Elsie Elliot, Sr. and Family (Memory and Honor), Dick Hall, Dr. Lewis Benjamin Lefkowitz, Jr., Odes McKamey, “Aunt Verne” (Luverna) Walker, Maxine Welch

In honor:

J.W. Bradley, Tonia Brookman, Marie Cirillo, Marian Collette, Dr. Bryna Giemza (Texas Tech University), Rosalie Hammond, Lester Hatfield, Art Van Zee

SHC Legacy Fund Team (as of August 2022)

Polly McArthur, PhD, RN retired professor of nursing; student nurse with SHC in St. Charles, Virginia 1973-4.

Nancy Raybin, Of Counsel, Marts & Lundy, philanthropic fundraising; community organizer and clinic manager in St Charles Virginia, 1973-77.

Jack Beckford, Beckford Consulting, organizational development for nonprofits; community organizer Mud Creek, Kentucky 1971.

John Gaventa, Professor, Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex; author Power and Powerlessness: Quiescence and Rebellion in an Appalachian Valley, 1980. SHC East Tennessee 1971.

Taylor Loy, PhD candidate in Science and Technology Studies at Virginia Tech; grandson of Kate and J.W. Bradley.